Chairperson: Rev. Fr. Joaquin Bernas, SJ, Dean, Ateneo School of Law


  • Sec. Florencio Abad
    Secretary, Department of Budget and Management
    Former Member, House of Representatives
  • Dr. Fernando Aldaba
    Fellow, Ateneo Center for Social Policy and Public Affairs (ACSPPA)
  • Atty. Alberto Agra
    Former Secretary, Department of Justice
    Former Executive Director, SALIGAN
  • Atty. Ferdinand Casis
    Former Director, Legal Affairs, Department of Agrarian Reform
  • Atty. Arlene “Kaka” J. Bag-ao
    Member, House of Representatives
    Former Executive Director, Balay Alternative Legal Advocates for Development in Mindanaw (BALAOD-Mindanaw)

Sectoral Council Members

  • Women Concerns: Salome Ujano, Resource Mobilization Coordinator, Women’s Crisis Center (WCC)
  • Labor Concerns: Daniel Edralin, Secretary-General, National Union of Workers in the Hotel, Restaurant and Allied Industries (NUWHRAIN)
  • Peasant Concerns: Oscar Santos, Member, Board of Trustees Philippine Ecumenical Action for Community Empowerment Foundation (PEACE)
  • Urban Poor Concerns: Hon. Percival Chavez, Chairperson Presidential Commission for the Urban Poor (PCUP)
  • Local Governance Concerns: Jesus Vicente Garganera, Program Manager, Local Governance Philippine
  • Partnership for the Development of Human Resources in Rural Areas (PhilDHRRA)
  • Bicol Region Concerns: Jocelyn Vicente Angeles, National Training Coordinator, Community Organizing of the Philippines Enterprise Foundation (COPE)
  • Representatives from NGOs
  • Mary Lou Caharian, Sectoral Representative, Women Sector National Anti-Poverty Commission (NAPC)
  • Ma. Lourdes M. Tison, Member, Board of Trustees Paghiliusa sa Paghida-et Negros

Former SALIGAN Staff

Atty. Ma. Cleoffe Gettie Sandoval, Leaders for Health Project




SALIGAN’s Council of Advisers shall be composed of 15 members. The founding members of SALIGAN’s Board of Trustees shall be automatic members of the Council of Advisers. In addition to the founding trustees, the Council shall have the following members:

One representative for Women’s Concerns
One representative for Labor Concerns
One representative for Peasant Concerns
One representative for Urban Poor Concerns
One representative for Local Governance Concerns
One representative for Bicol Concerns
One representative for Mindanaw Concerns
Two representatives from Non-Governmental Organizations
One former SALIGAN Staff Member

The additional council members (ie., the non-founding trustees) shall be selected by the General Assembly composed of SALIGAN’s staff members after consultations with SALIGAN’s partner organizations. While the members of the Council are selected primarily because of their involvement in their respective organizations and/or fields, their membership in the Council is personal and not tied to the position that they handle in their organization.

The founding Chairperson of the Board of Trustees shall be the Chairperson of the Council. The SALIGAN Executive Director, however, shall convene the Council, and, in the absence of the Chairperson, shall preside over meetings of the Council.

Term of Office

The founding trustees shall be Council members emeritus and shall not have any fixed term as members of the Council. The other Council members shall have a fixed term of three years. There is no prohibition on reelection.